Tanya Donelly – “Manna” Love Songs for Underdogs (1997)

I developed a crush on Tanya Donelly when she was the lead singer of Belly back in the 90s. As was the case with so many of the bands that burst onto the scene during the heyday of Alternative music, the band recorded a couple of albums and then broke up; the half-lives of bands during this era were shamefully short. Tanya went off and recorded her own solo album, which was pretty hit-or-miss.

The thing that I always loved about her was her voice. It’s got this sweet, pixie-ish sound to it that sounds out of place in the world of rock. But somehow, it works for me…and it works surprisingly well on this understated and thoughtful track.

If you haven’t caught on by this point, I’m a sucker for quiet, stripped-down, overly romantic songs…at least when they’re done right.

Favorite Lines:

“And when I hold you like tomorrow you might die /well, that’s because you might / but I am here now / and I am staying put for reasons my heart knows.”

This entry was posted in Acoustic, Alternative and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment